Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Computer connections  ~  TopManager

Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
jorly
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 4:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
Hi I can't connect toppy to pc it gives three errors 1 directoryexists exception failure (programfiles) 2 directoryexists exceptionfailure (datafiles) 3 unable to detect toppy top level directories then it closes the connection down thanks in advance

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 5:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
Sounds as though you have a corrupted disk (for safety, TopManager closes the connection if it can't find \ProgramFiles or \DataFiles).

So, is the toppy working normally or is that also performing strangely?

If the disk is functioning properly (hardware wise) and the disk is corrupted then you have 3 options:
1) Reformat the disk (destroying all recordings) and reload taps etc
2) Extract the disk and connect to a windows pc (possibly involves buying an adapter for about 10). This ii a time consuming exercise but you may be lucky.
3) Extract the disk and send it to me to recover using my TopyDiskMedic program. I can recover recordings (and possibly stuff in \ProgramFiles ;depends on type of corruption). This will cost you 15 (about 5 carriage each way and 5 for my time)
Let me know if you want me to repair the disk with TDM

Can you view the toppy Archive using the remote control?

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jorly
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
thanks for reply well the toppy is working perfectly I can access everything when you say reformat then reload taps can I do that just from remote I don't have to be connected to pc? unfortunately I'm not brilliant with all this so I'll probably ask/do dumb things cheers

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
You say that the toppy is working perfectly so this would seem to indicate that you don't in fact have a problem with the disk's file system i.e no need to reformat/reload taps etc Note: you can't do this just using the remote unless you are not using any taps (not recommended).

How close is your PC to the toppy? A USB cable is limited to a maximum of 5m (it can be extended by another 5m using an active adapter but that is about the limit).
Have you connected the toppy to this pc before?
Is it the same USB cable as before? (not all cables are the same)
Are you using the same USB port on the pc?
What were you intending using TM for if it had connected (trying to ascertain what might be the cause for non-connection).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jorly
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 8:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
The distance is 4.2m between the pc and toppy the reason I wanted to use TM was because I did a rescan and forgot how to use channel organizer to delete all the rubbish so I thought if I connected using TM I could delete easily wrong I honestly can't remember if I've connected using this pc I know I could using an old laptop but thats bit the dust.I've got a spare toppy in the loft so I'm going to give that a go so I'll report back later cheers

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 8:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2393
Using channel organiser will be the simplest solution, its fairly intuitive to use.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 9:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
I agree, Channel Organiser seems the way to go.

Once you have it running as you want, you can try to get the USB connection working.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:37 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 680
Not that it's particularly relevant here, but I had to use 4 x 5m active extensions when I first got the Toppy before we had a laptop. It was slightly temperamental to connect, but worked fine. I tried connecting using just one extension recently, and it wouldn't connect at all. I guess the hardware is deteriorating somewhere...

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD5000AVJB added April '12
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 10:31 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2393
It will depend on how long ago you last had the software working.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
YorkshireJumbo
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 3:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 680
I connect several times a week to backup the box, and the XP laptop usually just sits in front of the TV. I was asked if I could tidy it up a bit, so I moved the laptop and backup drive and tried using one of the active extensions that I'd used before, but it refused to connect via the extension...

_________________
YJ - You may have speed, but I have momentum
Black Panther since Sep '05, Caps replaced July '10, WD5000AVJB added April '12
F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+U+Uu
TAPs: MS 6.6 Suite, UK OZ Surfer
View user's profile Send private message
jorly
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
well it's really annoying but my silver toppy connects fine antares etc. but the black facelift will absolutely not although I figured out sort of channel organizer and have deleted the rubbish but I suppose I will not be able to connect the black toppy will that be a problem? cheers anyway

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:22 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2393
Try rebooting the pc before connecting the black toppy.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3956
As you are trying to delete channels, I am assuming that you also performed a rescan.

You should only ever scan using Channel Organiser (or TopManager/PcControl).

So, if you performed a native Channel scan, you need to repeat the scan using Channel Organiser (then proceed to the delete sections).

It would also be helpful if you could post the MyInfo Logs (obviously difficult for the toppy that won't connect)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jorly
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:41 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
yay everything is working pc can see both toppys now, after seeing the silver one did it decide it was ok? anyway thanks for the interest till the next time cheers

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
View user's profile Send private message
jorly
Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 11:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 27 Feb 2009 Posts: 106
damn spoke to soon the black toppy won't connect again after connecting just the once but the silver one is fine guess I'll have to be satisfied with that but I suppose I'll keep tinkering with it cheers

_________________
TF5800t, IA On, TS On, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 -Ab+CwDeOtSlTdXl
TAPs: Extend v1.7; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyInfo B5.6; (MyStuff 6.6); (Channel Organiser B2.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 26/9/15
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum