Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Win10 Altair

Page 1 of 1
Andy K
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 12:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3513
Hi

It's been a while since I have been on here.

My toppies have been working faultlessly. Very Happy

So much so, that I have forgot how to connect them to Altair.
It's been so long since I have talked to them over USB Crying or Very sad that I almost forget how. Also trying TFcopy and I just want to send them a small file.

My toppies have the USB speed up patch which maybe part of the issue.

I have tried 3 toppies, and 3 computers so far !

I have seen the top 3 directories (data,ProgramFiles,MP3), but can't navigate down to them. I recall this is because I haven't got the speed up .DLL is the correct place.


I also have a new computer running Windows 10. Can someone give me some guidance on what I need to install to get this one working please?

Thank you very much. Smile
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:44 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3933
If you think the problem with one of your pre Win 9 computers is down to the DLL then
1) Install/Run TopManager
2) Connection | Settings - create a connection (probably USB)
3) Connection| Open
4) Tools| DLL| Display
5) Scroll down the list and double click (?) any item that shows a "Fix DLL" logo.

For the Win 10 pc, you will need to install the Installing the winusb drivers for the Topfield PVR drivers provided with Antares (a replacement for Altair). These drivers also install on older versions of windows.
By default, Win 10 won't let you install unsigned drivers so you will need to jump through some hoops to allow it (google for what others have done).

TopManager works with any of the drivers i.e runs ok on Win10
TM can copy files to/from \ProgramFiles directories (but not \DataFiles) - easiest with drag and drop.
Altair and TFCopy won't work on Win10 (I suppose that it may be possible if you really know what you are doing).
Antares has a command line mode if you prefer to automate things (i.e. a replacement for TFCopy)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy K
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3513
Thank you.

I have installed that on Win10. Just need to find where its put it.
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 4:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3933
TopManager won't work on Win 10 unless you also install the drivers I linked to.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy K
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 5:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3513
I followed your link

http://haselgrove.id.au/antares/z4t.html

and installed drivers on win10.


It said I can still use Altair (but I guess that is not relavant to win10?) providing its in the same dir.
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:23 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3933
I suggest you forget Altair/TfCopy and just install Antares.

(I'm assuming that you now have the connection working)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Andy K
Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 14 Jun 2005 Posts: 3513
An update.

Win10 was doing my head in...

So I found an old laptop with Win98 on that I had used before.
Managed to copy the file to the MP3 directory. (I think it liked that directory as it was empty). Then I was lucky, that toppy had a TAP on it that could move the file to where I wanted it.

I've found a laptop with XP on it. I just need to find the topfield windows install files and the links on here to topfield.com are dead.
I think I have them somewhere. I should hopefully be able to put the file on other toppies then.

Will try and get win10 working when I have more time and patience.

Thanks for your help
View user's profile Send private message
ccs
Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 3:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2374
.....lots of clues on how to get Antares working on windows 10 in "Computer Connections". Smile

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3933
If you have an XP laptop then just install the Antares driver that I linked to on it (and Antares and/or TopManager).

You can then sort out the Win 10 system in your own time.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyfras
Posted: Mon Feb 20, 2017 3:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3388
Andy K wrote:
I've found a laptop with XP on it. I just need to find the topfield windows install files and the links on here to topfield.com are dead.

Available here: https://sites.google.com/site/andyfraserelectronics/freeview-and-satellite-recorder-repair/topfield-pvr-faults/TFDN_USB.ex

Just add the final e to the .ex and run it on a WinXP PC.

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum