Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  AV & other discussions  ~  (OT) Chromecast peculiarity

Page 1 of 1
goodolpete
Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 161
Hi all.
This site is such a source of knowledge, I feel sure someone
can help with this. I have a netbook running windows 7
starter. I run home video files in VLC, fire up the latest
version of chrome browser, click on "cast to desktop", and
see it fullscreen on my tv, allbeit a little jerkily. I also have
a pc running windows home professional. I do the same, and
the video runs smoothly but *only filling threequarters of the
tv horizontally and vertically*. Can someone suggest what's
causing this, or what setting to alter, it's been bugging me for
a week.
TIA,
Pete

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:40 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1633
Maybe changing the screen resolution setting will yield one which fills the screen.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 16/03/17

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
goodolpete
Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:20 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 161
Bizman wrote:
Maybe changing the screen resolution setting will yield one which fills the screen.

Hi Bizman.
Thanks for your reply (and your pick of the week, which I find very useful).
My only PC screen res is between 1800 x 760 or 800 x 600, and no change
when this is adjusted. My samsung tv has various picture modes like
dynamic, smartfit and zoom. These do change the amount of screen that
chromecast occupies, but not full screen. I guess I'll have to put it down to
incompatability between pc and tv.
Thanks again,
Pete

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
View user's profile Send private message
Darucla
Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:34 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1526 Location: Norwich
Not really sure, but I suspect that you may have set the system up initially with the netbook, and that has for some reason set the wrong resolution. I feel it shouldn't make a difference, given that it's the TV that should be the determinant for the aspect ratio etc.

FWIW, I am using a Chromecast on a Win 10 PC and HD TV with no problems. I mainly use it for watching streamed table tennis matches via the ITTF website using Chrome browser, and the "full screen " option functions as I expect.

Have a look at this, https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chromecast/mbdTWhHafYo
And there are probably other discussions as well elsewhere.
View user's profile Send private message
goodolpete
Posted: Sat Jan 14, 2017 11:02 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 161
Darucla wrote:
Not really sure, but I suspect that you may have set the system up initially with the netbook, and that has for some reason set the wrong resolution. I feel it shouldn't make a difference, given that it's the TV that should be the determinant for the aspect ratio etc.
FWIW, I am using a Chromecast on a Win 10 PC and HD TV with no problems. I mainly use it for watching streamed table tennis matches via the ITTF website using Chrome browser, and the "full screen " option functions as I expect.
Have a look at this, https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chromecast/mbdTWhHafYo
And there are probably other discussions as well elsewhere.

Thanks, D.
I tried a factory reset and doing the initial chromecast setup from my pc
with the same result, so I will continue to trawl every forum I can for an
answer.
GOP

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmSy+Wf
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 15/2/17
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum