Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  General Toppy discussions  ~  Zero byte recordings?

Page 1 of 1
cawright1
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 11:38 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
Hi guys, seem to vbe getting a few of these at the moment. But, its intermittent. For instance, overnight last night, I recorded three progs, first one was fine middle one was zero bytes and the last was ok ?? Any ideas?

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 12:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
Did the toppy reboot while the 2nd recording was being made? - the true recording duration is only written to disk when the recording completes (and the box is still running normally).

I'm assuming that all your capacitors have been changed in the psu; please say if they haven't.

Suggest you power off the toppy at the wall for 2 minutes then switch on again; this will cause it to do a full initialization i.e. different from just coming out of standby.


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cawright1
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:02 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
Hi Geoff, these recordings are done overnight so not sure what is happening really. Also, well, as I have three Toppys here I've lost track which ones have had the psu's done to be honest. Anyway, I will cold boot the box, retune it and then see how it goes.

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
You shouldn't need to retune it - just do the cold boot.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cawright1
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:45 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
ok, cold booted and set it to record two things this afternoon. BOTH have recorded as zero bytes. Oh dear.

Question: - would this be anything to do with the the disk? If not,. I will take the disk out and stick it in one of my other Toppys.

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:00 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
Try running my fsCheck tap to check out the disk and file system - it should be in \ProgramFiles\Utilities

Please post the output in the fsCheck reports (i.e. not this one).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cawright1
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:48 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
ok, put the disk into a different toppy and set it to record. Guess what? More zero byte recordings. Looks like it must be the disk. Anyway, as you said I hav e ran the fs check and now posted it in the relevant place. Looking forward to your comments.

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
I've looked at the report and can see the corruptions in the recording headers.

However, the disk is not currently configured to report the SMART characteristics providing info about it's health.

Please "use keypad 3 in HDDinfo tap" to enable reporting. Then rerun fsCheck and post the new report.

Cheers
Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cawright1
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:07 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
ok Geoff, thnk thats it. I have deleted the prev report and posted new report in its place.

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:19 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
For anyone interested, this is the link to the report.


Re the 3 recordings that ran overnight:
Use the TM Display|Extend |Display option and look to see if the toppy crashed around the time of the 2nd recording (the one that failed)/
This file is probably very large so press the "End" key and work backwards up the file. Suggest you also use the TM Display| Extend | Delete option

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cawright1
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:12 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
Geoff Bacon wrote:
For anyone interested, this is the link to the report.


Re the 3 recordings that ran overnight:
Use the TM Display|Extend |Display option and look to see if the toppy crashed around the time of the 2nd recording (the one that failed)/
This file is probably very large so press the "End" key and work backwards up the file. Suggest you also use the TM Display| Extend | Delete option

Geoff


Need more info on that Geoff. From where/what tool do I run the 'TM Display'? However, I have now deleted all those bad recordings - as you suggested in the post after the report posting.

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 4:31 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
I use TM to mean my TopManager (it runs on your pc)

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ccs
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2406
cawright1 wrote:
Hi guys, seem to vbe getting a few of these at the moment. But, its intermittent. For instance, overnight last night, I recorded three progs, first one was fine middle one was zero bytes and the last was ok ?? Any ideas?
If, as you've said, the 2nd tuner isn't connected, then this could quite easily happen.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
cawright1
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:43 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 31 Oct 2008 Posts: 144
ok to catch up. I mentioned that I had taken out the looping RF cable recently, as I needed the link cable for another use. Now, well, it appears that there is a massive DOH! moment here. Looks like this has been causing the issue all along. Embarassed Embarassed Thanks anyway for all your help guys and Geoff - at least it's keeping you on your toes! Laughing

_________________
TF5800t, F/W: 5.13.65T 14/4/2009 +AbCpCwDeFmOtReSlTdTeWfXl
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; FreeSpaceBar1.1n; Font Manager 1.0d; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; PruneEPG 1.0; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; QuickJump 1.72; (Start Channel LCN);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/5/15** Windows 10 Home 64 bit **
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3961
With computers (of which the toppy is one), it is quite often the last thing one has changed that causes the problem!

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum