Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  TF5810 front panel clock doesn't update when in standby

Page 1 of 1
sploo
Posted: Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:12 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Aug 2010 Posts: 14
My TF5810 has started behaving strangely over the last few days: if I bring it out of standby (for a few minutes at least) then turn it off (back to standby) the time on the front panel is correct. It'll usually then update as expected (i.e. keep time) for a while, but returning later the time is wrong.

I've especially noticed this overnight (clock many hours behind when you look at it in the morning); where I assumed we'd had an overnight power cut.

Assuming the time on the display is the time (as far as the Toppy's concerned), it's unsurprisingly missing timers, so not recording scheduled programs.

I've found a couple of references to the front panel / display panel battery and the time display part of the problem looks a dead cert for that issue. Am I right in thinking that the displayed timer is also the Toppy's timer (i.e. missing recording timers would be expected)?
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:04 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1612
See TF5810 Display Battery replacement at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=252459

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/10/16

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
sploo
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 5:02 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Aug 2010 Posts: 14
Bizman wrote:
See TF5810 Display Battery replacement at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=252459

Thanks. I'd seen that thread, but I wasn't certain the issue of missing timers was related (though I'll assume it must be).

In the hope it's useful for others, I took some photos when I did the battery replacement.

After removing the lid I undid the three screws that hold the front panel on, pressed up the tabs at the bottom, and tipped the front panel forward. The plugs holding the cables in were pretty tight so I decided not to remove them (the small plug socket was already at that angle - I didn't bend it!):



Once the three screws holding the circuit board are removed, you need to press in the two tabs shown in the circle. I found that gently pressing the panel down on the table helped to lift the circuit board (as the large round toggle button on the front panel pushes it up):



Replacing the battery was then simple - gentle pressure with a screwdriver on the tab at the right side of the battery and it pops out:



The old battery was reading just a shade over 1V, so clearly needed replacing.

Getting the circuit board in proved harder than lifting it out - you need to slot it under the two tabs.

I've not tried any recordings yet, but all seems well so far.

BTW The non-standard HDD is a 1TB SATA unit, with a SATA to PATA converter.
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:10 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3349
I see that the PSU still has the original capacitors - it is on borrowed time!

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sploo
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2016 1:56 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Aug 2010 Posts: 14
andyfras wrote:
I see that the PSU still has the original capacitors - it is on borrowed time!

It's been on borrowed time for a long time then Wink

I am aware of the PSU issues (I had a TF5800 before this), but it (the 5810) is old, it's SD only, and I'm in the process of setting up a Raspberry Pi + Kodi + a HD USB tuner; so I suspect the Toppy will slowly get used less, and if/when it does eventually go pop it'll probably just get retired.
View user's profile Send private message
mw2510
Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2016 11:47 am Reply with quote
Joined: 07 Mar 2010 Posts: 6
hi,
did replacing the battery cure the problem as mine is doing exactly the same? it was replaced a couple of years ago but perhaps needs it again?
thanks.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +R0
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; Extend v1.7; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Font Manager 1.0d;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 22/8/14
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sploo
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:44 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Aug 2010 Posts: 14
mw2510 wrote:
hi,
did replacing the battery cure the problem as mine is doing exactly the same? it was replaced a couple of years ago but perhaps needs it again?
thanks.

Yes - the Toppy is now recording programs on the timer as expected, so it does appear to be the "right" fix for this issue.
View user's profile Send private message
Bizman
Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 7:09 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Apr 2010 Posts: 1612
mw2510 wrote:
hi,
did replacing the battery cure the problem as mine is doing exactly the same? it was replaced a couple of years ago but perhaps needs it again?
thanks.
My battery was still going strong after 5 years, but was replaced on Andy's advice. Perhaps it matters how much time the Toppy spends in standby and the shelf life of the origial battery.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: 5.15.09T 4/9/2009 -FmTe+EzHsVb
TAPs: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; MHEG On/Off A3; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; (fsSave 1.1);
Sig generated by MyInfo on 14/10/16

Other TAPs : FsCheck, Channel Organiser. PSU Caps 7/2/2011 Tx: Mendip. TV: Samsung (32"), NSLU2, STB: Labgear FV300. PC Acer Aspire One with Win7 Starter
View user's profile Send private message
aj4m2a
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 8:59 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 14 Jul 2006 Posts: 13
sploo wrote:
Bizman wrote:
See TF5810 Display Battery replacement at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=252459


In the hope it's useful for others, I took some photos when I did the battery replacement.


Thank you all for this thread. Another successful fix for an aging Toppy.

_________________
TF5810, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MHEG On/Off A3; PruneEPG 1.0; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 30/3/16
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum