Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  Sound suddenly cut out - what happened?

Page 1 of 1
rosso
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:01 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 345
I can't find any info on the forums about this happening.

All my audio systems, 2 other PVRs, radio etc. are working perfectly.

The recordings on both tuners are also silent. The set has been very recently refurbished by Andy Fraser and has been working perfectly.

Any advice please - thanks.

(Sorry about no signature - can't manage to update it - Can't make TopManager buttons do much!)

_________________
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+Wf
TAPs: TF5000 Display v1.53; QuickJump 1.72; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/12/15
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
ccs
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 5:28 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Oct 2007 Posts: 2379
The toppy has its own volume control, independent of the tv/amp or whatever.

_________________
TF5810, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -FmXl+CtEzIScVdZ
TAPs: EIT Sub v0.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MPDisplayLITE V1.2; MyInfo B5.6; SecCache (UK) v0.4; Extend v1.7; MyStuff 6.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 20/10/14
ccsx
View user's profile Send private message
rosso
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 345
Yes, but the sound just cut out when listening as usual to a programme. I thought it was the BBC which had a sound problem.

No remote, scart, speaker, loose wires, reboot, un and replug etc. account for this unfortunately.
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
rosso
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:35 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 345
I've just noticed in Device Manager that there is a yellow ! on the Topfield(libusb-winusb) item.

I clicked on to update it but it said driver is up to date.
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 7:06 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Have you tried switching the tv off/on ? (that worked for some else)

No idea why you have an exclamation on the driver but that won't be anything to do with the lack of sound.

Does TopManager work? - if so, the driver is fine.

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
alan_m
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 8:15 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3413
Have you hit the mute button on the Toppy remote?

_________________

5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rosso
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 345
Unfortunately not Alan - when the sound cut I wasn't even touching the remote. Also my TV works very well thru 3 other systems.

After checking everything I could I thought that the piece of hardware/chip which makes/controls the audio (whatever that could be) must have 'blown' - is that possible?

It seems that this is a very unusual occurrence which is very frustrating.

( I see forums are still on summer time!)
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
Darucla
Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 06 Jun 2007 Posts: 1530 Location: Norwich
If you are using a scart connector, have you tried putting in either a pair of phono-phono leads or an SPDIF connector to see if they are also faulty? If any of the audio outputs actually work, that would suggest the fault is relatively easily fixable. If not, it may be more problematic.
View user's profile Send private message
rosso
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:02 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 345
I have a 4 way scart box connecting 3 PVRs (1 old but working Techwood but not plugged in) a VCR and a Humax and the toppy. I swapped the scarts around to see if the Toppy socket audio pins were OK which they were. I have phono leads from the scart box leading to a Pure Legato II to power each PVR output which works perfectly to 2 speakers.

So it seems that there is no audio output from the Toppy, yes?

I have pulled out and pushed back in the 2 scarts at the Toppy's rear.
The Toppy's video shows a perfect picture.
View user's profile Send private message 5800t
alan_m
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:06 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3413
Press the OPT button on the Toppy remote to see what audio channel has been selected

_________________

5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
rosso
Posted: Fri Dec 11, 2015 1:08 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jan 2009 Posts: 345
Good heavens problem solved!! well fixed really.

I had the Toppy unplugged all today so before sleep I started it up again for another fiddle around and the sound was back! Just plugging it in it booted up and 'sound poured out of the speakers.

So if it could mute and unmute on its own I'll keep my fingers crossed. I can't think if I had done anything different to change anything so it remains a mystery.

But thanks to all for all your advice in trying to help - very much appreciated as it motivates to keep trying to solve problems.

(I do have another long standing glitch, not very serious, which I'll post elsewhere)
View user's profile Send private message 5800t

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum