Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  5800 has hiccups on sound

Page 1 of 1
dedge
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:11 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 11 Mar 2012 Posts: 7 Location: Salisbury
Hi. Our old Topfield 5800 has developed a fault on playback, where the sound signal is momentarily interrupted for a second or so, every one or two minutes. I think that at least sometimes the video signal is interrupted as well.

Has anyone else experienced this problem, and/or have any advice about how to tackle it? Should I try reformatting the disk ? (Bit reluctant to do this, because of loads of recordings we haven't got around to watching yet !)

Software version is TF NPT 5.13.65T. Device version is v5.3.36. Replaced the capacitors last year as a precaution.

Thanks.

Dedge
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3960
Is http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=233172#233172 any use?

Do you have any taps/patches on the system? If not then this could be related.

Please specify the operating system of your pc so that someone can give you instructions on how to post the output of the MyInfo tap; this shows your configuration (and may indicate other issues that you have lurking).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 5:36 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3960
http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?p=203489 may also be of help.


Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dedge
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:31 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 11 Mar 2012 Posts: 7 Location: Salisbury
Geoff, thanks very much for that link--I did have NTSC selected (dunno how that happened) and changing it to PAL did the trick.

I think I may have installed some taps from a source referenced on this website a long time ago, but I'm afraid I can't remember which ones they were. Would the myinfo tap tell me that? I'm running on XP SP3.

Thanks again

Dedge
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Tue Feb 18, 2014 11:09 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3960
The NTSC may have got set if you did a reset on the toppy.

As you have windows, you can use TopManager to do the work for you.
1) Install by following link in my signature.
2) Connection| Settings - create a connection (probably USB)
3) Connection| Open
4) Tools| Install Files| MyInfo
5) Reboot toppy and wait 2 mins while MyInfo works
6) Display| MyInfo Log
7) Click in display, CtrlA (select all), CtrlC (copy), add to this thread and CtrlV (to paste)

If you need to install a driver on the pc, use this one

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
juwlz
Posted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 5:58 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10810 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
dedge wrote:
I think I may have installed some taps from a source referenced on this website a long time ago, but I'm afraid I can't remember which ones they were. Would the myinfo tap tell me that?
Yes it would.
Quote:
I'm running on XP SP3.
The easiest way to do it will be to install Geoff's TopManager application on your PC and take it from there.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum