Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  Bugs  ~  SCART Volume from Topfield decreasing over a few months?

Page 1 of 1
jkn
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:05 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Oct 2007 Posts: 12
Hi All
I have a Topfield 5800 which has served me well for quite a few years now; I have
had several SATA drives through it and re-capped the PSU a year or so ago.

I usually control the speaker output volume by having the TV volume preset to half-way (a value of '50'), and controlling the output volume on the Topfield.

Something I have noticed over the last few months or so is that the volume of the TV when running through the Topfield, or playing back recordings, is lower than I expect. I have had to increase the preset volume on the TV to '60' or '70' in order to have control over a decent volume range via the Topfield remote.

I know it's not my hearing that has altered, and playing the DVD into the television means I have to turn the volume bakc down. So I'm wondering what might be causing this.

Anyone else come across something like this? I am wondering if there is a hidden volume preset setting on the topfield. A hardware fault seems possible but it's a strange one. I guess it's possible that my SCART cable is at fault, but again that seems a bit odd...

Any thoughts appreciated.

Cheers
Jon N
View user's profile Send private message
ryclark
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:24 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 1611 Location: Shropshire
The volume level coming from the Toppy via the TV SCART socket is set by the Toppy volume control. I usually leave this set to maximum. However I seem to remember that doing a reset on the Toppy or updating the firmware can reset the Toppy volume to the default level of only around 60%. So press the Up Volume button on the Toppy remote to make sure that it is set full up.

_________________
TF5800t, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Fm
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; MyInfo B5.6; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.6; MHEG On/Off A3; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; TSSaver v0.5;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 13/10/14
View user's profile Send private message
alan_m
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:37 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 18 Oct 2006 Posts: 3413
jkn wrote:
Any thoughts appreciated.

Have you inadvertently set your Toppy to mono, only left or only right audio rather than stereo? This is a Toppy menu setting or a setting when you press the opt button on the remote

A SCART cable is only wires and a broken wire is unlikely. The more likely failure is a high resistance caused the connector falling out slightly - re-plug the SCART at both ends.

Did you at one time have the Vb patch that is no longer there asa result of a firmware/Tap upgrade?

The Volume Boost [Vb] patch boosts the audio output by +6dB

_________________

5800 - 1Tbyte HD and fan F/W: MS6, 5.13.65T 18 Nov 2010 -Te+B2D plus aXeL
Auto Start:MyStuff 6.5|EPG2MEI v0.96|Extend v1.7|SecCache (UK) v0.4|TF5000 Display v1.53|MHEG On/Off A3
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jkn
Posted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:24 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 23 Oct 2007 Posts: 12
Hi Alan

alan_m wrote:

jkn wrote:
Any thoughts appreciated.

Have you inadvertently set your Toppy to mono, only left or only right audio rather than stereo? This is a Toppy menu setting or a setting when you press the opt button on the remote


Good thinking, that was the sort of thing I was wondering about. However this setting is still on Stereo, so no joy there...

alan_m wrote:

A SCART cable is only wires and a broken wire is unlikely. The more likely failure is a high resistance caused the connector falling out slightly - re-plug the SCART at both ends.


Well, I don't know about unlikely, given the poor quality of most Scart cables/connectors... I have tried re-plugging the Scart. But you have made me realise that the problem might be a loss of one channel ... I don't (normally) use a fancy sound system, and it is possible that the TV is just missing a channel.

(5 mins later) ... hmm, seems not ... but still worth investigation.

alan_m wrote:

Did you at one time have the Vb patch that is no longer there asa result of a firmware/Tap upgrade?

The Volume Boost [Vb] patch boosts the audio output by +6dB


No, I've never had such a patch; I suspect I will install that TAP once I've sorted out this problem, as it will better align the volumes of my source components.

Thanks for the post!

Cheers, Jon N
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum