Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  New users start here  ~  Scan only finds channels on Mux 41

Page 1 of 1
Ginger
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:05 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 198
Switched on this morning and was met with the Installation menu, was all fine when put into standby last evening.
Went through with scanning but it can only find Mux on ch. 41, I've tried several times to scan via manual scans and Channel Organiser but no joy.

Andy replaced the Caps around a year ago.

How can I get back to my normal state please?

Thanks All.


Last edited by Ginger on Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:47 pm; edited 1 time in total

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6);
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 22/04/14
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:16 am Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Start by unplugging from the mains, and leaving it for a few minutes, to give it a cold reboot.

Julie

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ginger
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:29 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 198
Unfortunately it hasn't worked Julie.

Thanks for trying to help.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6);
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 22/04/14
View user's profile Send private message
andyfras
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:42 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 25 Jul 2005 Posts: 3391
Have you tried a factory reset?

Could it be an aerial fault? Do you have any other device connected to the aerial and if so, is it working on all channels.

Try a manual scan on 41, 42, 44, 45, 47 (Hannington).

_________________
Toppy PSU repair service or capacitor kits for DIY available - PM me for details.
MyStuff 6.6 : Little Clock : MHEGOnOff : Extend : EPG2MEI : SecCache : EIT_Sub : TSSaver : Prune EPG
Channel Organiser : Tap Commander : HDD Info : PCControl : Signal Monitor : MyInfo
URC-7555 remote: TF5800 320GB 2.5", Recommended_5800.tfd + CfPePsScUUuWfZ
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ginger
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:13 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 198
Other Toppy's and various tuners on my PC all working fine from the single roof aerial.

I tried manual scan before I posted Andy but it won't scroll beyond 41 so I'm stuck, not many channels I watch on 41, LOL.

Thank You.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6);
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 22/04/14
View user's profile Send private message
juwlz
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 1:28 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 12 Aug 2005 Posts: 10802 Location: Wokingham, Berkshire (Hannington transmitter)
Factory reset, reboot, Factory reset again, and then try a scan.

Julie

P.S. You might like to edit your first post to give a more descriptive subject (e.g. Scan only finds channels on Mux 41). "Problem with my Toppy" won't really help anybody else searching the forum for the same problem - they won't know what the problem is.

_________________
5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy+BmC0CfCtFsIMPePsR3UUuUxZ
5810, TS On, F/W: F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 +BmCfCtFsR3Z
MyStuff info; Help!; Reference
Harmony 885 remote. Sig date 8 April 2012
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 2:03 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
If you have previously used FastScanGUI, you will only be able to manually scan the channels that it previously selected. In this case, it could be that you are restricted to 41 if you used it to scan one channel.

Doing Resets as indicated above should allow access to the other channels.

Alternatively, if you have a windows pc, you can use TopManager to do the scan for you (no need to factory reset):
1) Install TopManager
2) Connection | Settings - set up a USB (probably) connection
3) Connection| Open
4) Tools| Install files| PcControl
5) Reboot toppy
6) PcControl| Channel Management
7) Select "Identify my Transmitter" in the top combo box and click on the Hannington transmitter
8 ) Perform Scan
9) Right Click; Select "all pay, porn, shopping... channels" and "Delete Selected Channels"
10) Finalize

You should also move PcControl to the start of the tap load order ; see here

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ginger
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 198
Thank you Geoff, I now have all my required channels.

This place is amazing as are the knowledgeable members who help us all out, thank you.

I tried as Julie suggested leaving it on Auto but all I got were channels on Mux 45, BBC channels.

Tried your suggested Geoff and it worked but not sure that the PC Control TAP is at the top now though, I followed your directions, hit Apply, it shows first on the PC list within Top Manager but it doesn't show at the top on the Toppy, have I done something wrong?

Thanks All.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6);
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 22/04/14
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:25 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
@Ginger

Glad that worked.

PCControl won't show as the first tap until after the toppy has been rebooted. This will happen automatically tomorrow (assuming you are using the MyStuff options to put it into standby overnight - and, if not, you should be!)

Alternatively, you can reboot the toppy, wait 2 minutes and use "Display| MyInfo Log" (PcControl should be in Slot 0).

If you want to paste the MyInfo Log into this thread then
1) Ctrl A (select all)
2) Ctrl C (copy)
3) Reply to this thread and Ctrl V (to paste)
(You can also do the first 2 steps by right clicking in the display and selecting from the popup menu).

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ginger
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 4:59 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 198
I did a reboot Geoff, left it for about 10 minutes and switched back on, it's still not at the top on the Toppy.

Here is my log:

MyInfo B5.6 Logging settings etc on: 31/1/2013 at 15:47

Waiting for other TAPs to load and settle

Ini file found
Starting to record data 67 seconds from boot

System ID: 456
TV Output: Type = Auto, Video = RGB, RF Channel = 36
Reported firmware version: TF-NPT 5.13.65T dated Oct 10 2009
Base firmware version: 5.13.65

Running TAPS:
Slot 0: PcControl B1.2 : Toppy control from PC
Slot 1: EPG2MEI v0.96 : Dumps the EPG data to disk as EPG.mei, with changes since last time in EPG_diff.mei
Slot 2: MyStuff 6.4 : UI Replacement
Slot 3: Font Manager 1.0d : Manage TAP Fonts
Slot 4: Extend v1.7 : Uses the Accurate Recording info to extend recordings (safely)
Slot 5: SecCache (UK) v0.4 : Optimal (UK) section caching to reduce the load on the Toppy
Slot 6: EIT Sub (Game) v0.6 : Provides faster, simpler and more robust EIT data collection, except when playing games
Slot 7: MHEG On/Off A3 : MHEG control
Slot 8: MyInfo B5.6 : Displays & records Toppy basic info
Slots 9 - 15 not used


Installed patch list:- Ab Bf Bq Ce Ck Cp Cw Cy De Ec Ee Ef Ep Er Es F Fm Gm H He Kt Mh Nf Ot P Pc R Ra Re Rh Rp Rs S Sd Sl Sr St T2 Td Te Tf Tp Ts Vr Xp Xw Xl
Firmware MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 modified thus: -Sy
Patch Decode Links - Will explain your patches:
MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 :- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=AbBfBqCeCkCpCwCyDeEcEeEfEpErEsFFmGmHHeKtMhNfOtPPcRRaReRhRpRsSSdSlSrStT2TdTeTfTpTsVrXpXwXl
Missing patches:- http://www.toppy.org.uk/~simonc/dp.html?p=Sy

Time Mode set to Auto
Time Offset set to Auto

Found 42 TV channels and 1 Radio channels
No channel problems detected
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 41 are: 10, 16, 23, 27, 30, 31, 38, 44, 49, 72,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 42 are: 3, 4, 5, 6, 13, 14, 28, 33,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 44 are: 11, 12, 17, 29, 32, 36, 43, 82,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 45 are: 1, 2, 7, 9, 70, 71, 80, 200, 301, 302, 702,
LCNs of programme channels found on Tx Ch 47 are: 15, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24,

Interactive Off
Timeshift On

Memory - Free: 14 MB, Available: 12 MB
Disk - Total: 298 GB, Free: 209 GB

136 recordings (86 GB) + 0 deleted (0 GB) in 16 folders (+ 10 empty folders)

Time since boot: 0:0:1 (d:h:m)

Suggested signature for Toppy forum - copy following lines to signature block at http://forum.toppy.org.uk/forum/profile.php?mode=editprofile
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.2; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.4; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 31/1/13



Thank you.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6);
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 22/04/14
View user's profile Send private message
Geoff Bacon
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2013 5:16 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Jan 2007 Posts: 3941
Well it is showing in Slot 0 so it is in the correct place.

How are you displaying the order of taps on the toppy? Using the TapCommander tap, they do display in slot order on my toppy.
Note: the "PcControl| TapCommander" doesn't actually use this tap; it just provides similar functionality.

Aha! I'm guessing that you are looking at the files using "Connection| Browse" (TM always displays in alphabetic order).

[edit]Your MyInfo Log file loks fine[/edit]

Geoff

_________________
TopManager program
TF5800, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; StopExit v1.01; EPG2MEI v0.96; QuickJump 1.72; MyStuff 6.6; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MHEG On/Off A3; MyInfo B5.6; WSSkiller V2.12d; CrashTrace v0.4; fsSave 1.1; PruneEPG 1.0;
Sig generated by MyInfo on 17/1/16
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ginger
Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2013 7:05 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 05 Sep 2006 Posts: 198
Hello Geoff,

Sorry it's taken me a few days to reply but have had two small people here in one combination or another since last Wednesday and the smaller one was really poorly.

All seems fine using Tap Commander (I'd never looked at that before) so I won't worry about it.

Thank you for your help and your TAP.

Just need to find out why stuff shown in the Toppy/My Stuff archive doesn't show up the same in Antares.

_________________
TF5800, IA On, TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -Sy
TAPs: PcControl B1.4; EPG2MEI v0.96; MyStuff 6.5; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; (MyInfo B5.6);
Sig generated by TopManager/PcControl on 22/04/14
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum