Click here to go to the forum index Click here for the home page
 
Author Message

<  TAPs  ~  http://www.tapworld.net/ The Most Complete TAP Directory!

Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
janilxx
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:00 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 724
Its finally open!

http://www.tapworld.net

The Most Complete TAP Directory!


Last edited by janilxx on Mon Oct 23, 2006 7:14 am; edited 2 times in total
View user's profile Send private message
rexy
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:10 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 13 May 2005 Posts: 106 Location: Newburyport, MA, USA
Is there any way to tell which taps are for the TF5800?
View user's profile Send private message
janilxx
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:23 am Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 724
rexy wrote:
Is there any way to tell which taps are for the TF5800?


No, not at the moment. But isn't it so that most of the TAPs work with 5800?
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:47 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9519 Location: London
Not exactly; this is why we have two separate indicators in the TAP database here.

One lets you know if the TAP works with the original UK firmware, which has some very specific issues to do with the remote control keys.

And the other applies to TF5800s with firmware from May onwards. This has fewer issues, but it's still worth noting, since we don't have the same keys on our remotes, and some of the ones we do have are in different places. If a TAP relies on a key that's not available on the UK remote, then you'll have problems with it.

Keeping on top of all the updates is a nightmare too - our database needs a good tidying up at the moment.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HydeTheDarkerSide
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:36 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 11 May 2005 Posts: 5952 Location: Hannington Transmitter : Sony KDL 40Z5800
janilxx wrote:
rexy wrote:
Is there any way to tell which taps are for the TF5800?


No, not at the moment. But isn't it so that most of the TAPs work with 5800?


Well Asteroids and Boulderdash don't!!

Asteroids doesn't start at all and no readme file in the zip.

Boulderdash runs, but the graphics are very poor on my telly. It doesn't exit properly leaving most of the graphics on screen when the Toppy reverts back to normal program watching.

One or other of these TAP's also blew away the other TAP's I use.

Had to put the Toppy into standby and out again to get everything working again.

_________________
Hyde.
2x TF5800 All controlled with Harmony Ultimate , TS On, F/W: MS6 Recommended F/W 12/9/2009 -RSy+BmC0CbCfCtDsEgEmEvFsGIMPePsR0ScUUuWfXZ
TAPs: PcControl B1.3; EPG2MEI v0.96; Font Manager 1.0d; Extend v1.7; SecCache (UK) v0.4; EIT Sub (Game) v0.6; MyInfo B5.6; MyStuff 6.5 RC2;
MyStuff Links: http://www.toppy.org.uk/~mystuff/index.shtml
Sig generated by MyInfo on 11/10/13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
janilxx
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:53 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 724
HydeTheDarkerSide wrote:

Had to put the Toppy into standby and out again to get everything working again.


Been there, seen that. E.g. running MyStuff TAP in finnish TF5100 hangs toppy. Only booting helps.
View user's profile Send private message
BobD
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 1:04 pm Reply with quote
MyStuff Team Joined: 03 Aug 2005 Posts: 4187 Location: Nottingham
janilxx wrote:
Been there, seen that. E.g. running MyStuff TAP in finnish TF5100 hangs toppy. Only booting helps.

Yup! MyStuff only runs on 5800 at the moment. I may expand this in future versions. I will keep you informed of new versions to this Tap.

_________________
FW: ChunkyWizard Recommended
TAPs:
MyStuff (always one version ahead of everyone else!), and recommended support TAPS
MyStuff skins, manual and latest version: http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk
Known bugs & forthcoming fixes: http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk/Bugs.shtml
Changes coming in the next version: http://www.BobDsMyStuff.co.uk/NextVersion.shtml
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
cazlar
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 2:46 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 26 Mar 2005 Posts: 120 Location: Back in Sydney!
While we are discussing differences in Toppies, where would I find a list of the key codes (like in key.h) for the 5800?
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 3:04 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9519 Location: London
Haha! If only it were that straightforward.

The key codes themselves are mostly the same now. We don't have any keys that generate a different code when pressed, (unlike the original UK firmware).

The issue is more that a) we don't have all the keys - there's no UHF, for example - and b) our arrow keys and don't have dual functions. We have separate buttons for v+/v- and p+/p-, but as far as a TAP is concerned you can't distinguish between a left arrow and v-. So from a TAP point of view, we end up with two keys that do the same thing, and other keys missing.

And, then our coloured keys behave slightly differently, since they need to be available for MHEG applications. As a result of that, bookmark functions can only be accessed when the progress bar is on screen, which means some TAPs don't work properly.

So, a different keys.h won't help here. It's the same one.

If you want to allow for the original 5.11.52 firmware, then you need to look at the tf58keys.c code that we cobbled together. Even then, it's not a case that there are different codes per se. There are merely some strange mappings. Without doing some mapping back, you end up with really weird things like the Exit button decreasing volume each time it's pressed, and no way to turn it back up.

(Later...) Perhaps I'm remembering it wrong; I think it may be the case that the TAP sees the code for the key that you pressed, but to actually get that effect, you then have to pass on to the firmware the code for the key that's in that position on the TF5000. Which makes it really hard to have several TAPs running, too. Take a look at the mapping code, and you'll realise the grisly horror of the thing.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
simonc
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:04 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5617 Location: Cheltenham
Here's an example:
If you return RKEY_Exit from the TAP_EventHandler then the 5800 does and Exit event.
If you call TAP_GenerateEvent( EVT_KEY, RKEY_Exit, 0 ) then the 5800 changes volume!

Personally I'd forget about keeping track of original firmware compatibility. Even the May and August releases are rendered fairly obsolete by the BBC MHEG bug.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
toodeep
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:14 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 281
I never use MHEG functionallity and would like the option to turn it off so that my Toppy might behave as do others around the globe.
View user's profile Send private message
simonc
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 4:17 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 12 Apr 2005 Posts: 5617 Location: Cheltenham
That's something that might be partially addressable via a TAP. Certainly to return the colour keys to their international functions.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
deangelj
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:11 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 29 Mar 2005 Posts: 315 Location: Sydney, Australia
cazlar wrote:
While we are discussing differences in Toppies, where would I find a list of the key codes (like in key.h) for the 5800?
cazlar, Dave (R) posted this some time ago on our OZ forum: http://members.optusnet.com.au/~toppytools/docs/keys_browser.txt

cheers,
John
View user's profile Send private message
nwhitfield
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:23 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Joined: 20 Mar 2005 Posts: 9519 Location: London
Yep; that covers the wackiness that you get with the original UK firmware (5.11.52). It's made slightly saner by the May update.

Nigel.

_________________
Support this site - make a donation to our running costs
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
janilxx
Posted: Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:27 pm Reply with quote
Frequent contributor Joined: 17 Aug 2005 Posts: 724
Feel free to make this thread sticky Wink

(at least this site seems to get quite a lot satisfied visitors)
View user's profile Send private message

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 3
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum